Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 22nd, 2012

a bit thrifty…


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the things I like best about (natural) dyeing and eco printing on fabrics is that you can make a unique garment out of something old. This linen blouse  for instance  cost me practically nothing, but with some euca leaves, a tin can and a bit of iron water it became something new. I was a bit lazey with the scouring and mordanting this time. I only let it soak for about a week in soy milk and washing soda. I left the bundle for a few days outside and washed and  rinsed it immediately after opening. Much of the grey was washed out, but I like these faded colours anyway…

Deze linnen blouse heeft door eco print met eucalyptusblad en ijzerwater een metamorfose ondergaan. Voor een prikje op de kop getikt en nu een uniek kledingstuk: dat is de uitdaging en  iedere keer is de beloning weer een verrassing. Ik was een beetje te lui met het voorbewerken van de stof. Ik heb de blouse alleen een week in water met sojamelk laten weken. Na het sudderen op een roestig tinnen blik en een scheutje ijzerwater aan het einde nog vier dagen laten rusten: toen kon ik niet langer wachten. Omdat ik hem meteen heb gewassen en misschien ook door de korte voorbeits is veel van de donkere kleur verdwenen, maar ook zo vind ik hem mooi….

Read Full Post »